Following an accident on an Ardmore, Oklahoma, lake that claimed the life of a local resident this past summer, state lawmakers are attempting to create more stringent boating laws to prevent such accidents from occurring. A story from The Ardmoreite discussed these efforts and what they may mean for Oklahoma boaters.
Current state law requires any person between the ages of 12 and 16 years old to participate in a boater safety class before they are allowed to operate a vessel on the state’s waterways. The law has been lauded for its success in reducing the number of boating fatalities within this age demographic, and experts believe expanding the law could have the same effect on the 25 to 40 year old age group, who are among the demographic most commonly killed and injured in Oklahoma Boat Accidents.
This is why some lawmakers are calling for all boat operators to participate in a boating safety course. If the policy is signed into law, most current boaters would be grandfathered into the program. However, new boaters who have not participated in the safety course could face a fine of $50 to $100 for a first time offense and a $250 to $500 fine for each subsequent offense.
The Oklahoma Personal Injury Attorneys with J. Colbert Injury Lawyers are hopeful the proposed measure will be successful in reducing the number of people who are injured or killed as a result of Oklahoma boat accidents each year.